It is said that the fast pace of our everyday life, as a direct result of the rapid development of telecommunications technology and travel industry, has negative effects on individuals, nations and the globe. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The topic centering on whether living a life with a fast space resulting directly from rapid development of telecommunications technology and travel industry brings benefits or drawbacks is a debated question among nations and their citizens for centuries. Some advocate that this can affect individuals, nations and the globe adversely while it is my contention that this trend brings both merits and demerits.

On the one hand, it is irrefutable that there are obvious benefits of the fast pace of life. On advantage is that breakthroughs in telecommunication makes it possible for mobile users to save a great deal of money for travelling to meeting places. In fact, people can find themselves contacting with others over voice or video calls instead of commuting to somewhere to have face-to-face communication, thereby reducing daily expenditures and their valuable time. Another plus point is that thanks to the help of express means of transport including buses including buses, trains and cars, people and goods are likely to be transported in quick ways form place to place within a city or a nation or out of borders, thereby making life of common people and business men more convenient.

On the other hand, the downsides also persist. On demerit is that availability for contact over phones can make mobile users ‘lives more stressful. White collar workers, for instance, cannot have a good vocation with their friends or families if they can be accessible via calls or text messages sent by their bosses to ask them about their work. Another consideration is that authorities are more likely to find it harder to cope with international criminals. Drugs and illegal goods can be delivered across border on express and economic air flights and their activities can be planed ahead through the usage of private phone calls.

In conclusion, despites the fact that the fast pace of life makes our lives more stressful and insecure, I am of the opinion that their positive sides cannot be ignored.