It is sometimes suggested that primary schoolchildren should learn how to grow vegetables
and keep animals.
Do you think that the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?
As a society, we try to teach our children some types of skills such as tangible skills and the ability to
perceive humanities. Some people dispute whether getting familiar our children with vegetables and
animals are spending energy and money. In my point of view, I believe that children desire a chance of
learning vegetable and animal. Without a little doubt, this pattern could take more advantages in
comparison to the disadvantages.
Undoubtedly, at an early age, the brain is at its highest state of readiness to learn and perceive every
single information like how a dry sponge behaves in facing water. Primary school is a golden opportunity
for breeding children’s pure personality. If children learn how to works with plants and understand
animals, would be very effective in the real-world in the distant future. For example, they may tend to a
private garden or be environmentalism, what our planet needs these days most, to enact some
constructive changes toward climate changes. Not only is it important as a social issue but also it has been
analysed from a psychological point of view. Teaching tangible skills such as agrarian and keeping livestock
would result in self-reliance and stronger recognition of themselves. Hence, I’m on the side of the idea of
adding such skills into the primary school’s curriculum.
Nonetheless, there are some functional problems against implementation these programs to the primary
school’s curriculum. Firstly, an increase in urbanisation and fewer farms, have an access to farmland in
order to teach children cultivating plants and experience of practical learning of animals is trouble
enacting. Secondly, bereft of the budget is not ignorable due to poor allocation of limited resources. For
instance, budget has been required in order to rent some busses to carry children. Lastly, both the
responsibility of children to taking care of them and getting parent’s permission is tough enough
individually. Taken as a whole, aforementioned remarks have reduced the feasibility of actualizing
mentioned programs.
In conclusion, It is quite important and effective if primary schools are facilitated by the program. The
personal quality of children will train in a constructive way which can be interpreted as a kind of
investment in the human race. However, governments must take an action to cover this plan by dedicating
a sensible budget and facilitate schools with necessary facilities.