It is suggested that primary school students should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a fact that primary kids are encouraged to learn about planting vegetables and raising animals in primary school. This trend would introduce both pros and cons, but I believe that the benefits do outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, lectures on vegetable and animal care would bring about several disadvantages. One evident weakness is that would be a waste of time and have a detrimental impact on the learning outcomes. Spending a lot of time on it may cause students to get distracted and less interested in learning fundamental courses. Another argument is that germs and dangerous viruses from animals might endanger the health of schoolchildren. Children have a lot of interaction with pets, which can facilitate bacteria to enter the body and cause a variety of ailments. For example, dogs and cats reared at home and cared for by children are thought to carry more rabies germs than other animals.

On the other hand, I believe that the advantages of this trend would prove to be more important. To begin with, it enhances children's awareness of the need for environmental protection. It signifies that environmental degradation is detrimental because it endangers human health, and that children have to protect the environment and maintain a stable ecological balance. Second, responsibility will be instilled in the children. Because they have to monitor and care for their developing plants and animals every day, children acquire a sensation of becoming adults. In particular, taking care of vegetables and animals necessitates a plethora of agricultural knowledge, which can only be attained via a sense of responsibility. Kids will be trained into socially conscious citizens. Finally, if children understand the importance of eating a nutritious diet, they will include a variety of fresh vegetables in their regular meals. For example, children should consume enough carrots, broccoli, and spinach, which have been identified as having a high nutritional value. Furthermore, a child who learns to care for and treat an animal with understanding and compassion may get essential experience in learning how to treat humans.

To summarize, there are certainly some disadvantages to knowing how to cultivate plants and raise animals, as mentioned above. It seems to me that its benefits would be more essential for primary pupils in terms of promoting good eating habits, environmental preservation, and responsibility.