It is true that many art galleries and historical buildings are primarily visited by people from other regions, not the locals. While there are several reasons to account for this phenomenon, some measures should be taken to make these places more attractive to local people.

There are two principal causes leading to fewer inhabitants visiting local destinations. The first reason is that residents are too familiar with nearby tourist attractions. There is nothing new for them to discover when they are the chance to visit these famous places a second time. Secondly, the entrance tickets of well-known collections of art and historical sites are mostly exorbitant which means the locals who are underprivileged could not afford to pay visits. Meanwhile, visitors who usually live in affluence want to explore new sites regardless of how expensive the entrance fee is.

Fortunately, several solutions could be implemented to adopt this problem. The first approach would be that the local authorities should allocate budgets to invest in the facilities and quality of objects inside these institutions. This would be an effective way to attract residents. The second measure is that it should not be charged any entrance fee to the locals. This policy would encourage people to come here more regularly in order to broaden their knowledge about their hometown.

In conclusion, whereas there are some reasons why citizens from other parts of the world prefer to visit tourist attractions than the inhabitants, the government could address this issue with numerous effective steps.