It is true to say that in the new millennium, the general public tends to follow specific similar lifestyle in terms of clothing, meals, and types of TV programs.

It is true to say that in the new millennium, the general public tends to follow specific similar lifestyle in terms of clothing, meals, and types of TV programs. This sweeping trend has a multitude of merits such as a higher standard of living and wider selection, and various drawbacks including losing the inherited culture and controlling the world by a few nations.

On the one hand, due to the globalization and borderless economy, far more people are exposed to various products and services compared with their forefathers. This may lead to better living condition for the individuals. As a case in point, normal people who are in developing countries can enjoy the accessories and programmes which modern people in developed nations have. Therefore, the quality of their life will be enhanced considerably due to globalization.

On the other hand, as the disparities among nations have eliminated gradually there is the danger of losing traditional customs. Due to the fact that residents are influenced by similar fashion and TV channels, it would be quite possible that in the long-term they value other cultures than their previous ones and abandon their previous lifestyle. In addition to this, because few countries have the power to generate specific products or services, they may gain more power and revenue as a result of globalization. In such a context, perhaps these few nations oblige other countries to follow their orders.

To sum up, it is crystal clear that better living condition could be provided as a result of following a similar lifestyle; however, traditions in developing countries may extinct in the long run.