It is true to say that news editors are responsible for the content of TV news and written news.

It is true to say that news editors are responsible for the content of TV news and written news. Regarding this, it seems that there are two main reasons including owner pressure and attracting more viewers or readers which influence editors decision. Also, according to the statistics, modern people are accustomed to negative news and by my reckoning, it would be far better if we are exposed to positive news more.

It appears that there are two main factors influencing news editors in terms of selecting specific news. The first and foremost factor, perhaps, is attracting more viewers, which contribute to earning more money and gaining more reputation. As a case in point, Iranian news, irrespective of their media, normally broadcast 75% negative news in order to absorb more audience. Secondly, it is quite possible that the owners have special political views and consequently their views affect news editors decision regarding what to broadcast or print on TV or in newspapers respectively.

Psychologically, human tends to pay more attention to bad news than positive news. News editors are informed about this fact and as a result, they broadcast more negative news. This lead to the fact that viewers or readers are exposed to far more negative news and become accustomed to it in the long run. For example, the general public in my country tends to pay more attention to bad news, approximately 40%, than positive news. This lead to becoming cynical in the long-time. Therefore, it would be far better if more good news was reported.

To sum up, it is crystal clear that owners attitude and earning more money are the main factors impacting news editors in terms of the type of news to select. In addition, it is obvious that citizens tend to listen or read more bad news and become used to it, and it would be quite better if more promising news was reported.