It's generally believed that success in fields such as art and sport can only be achieved if a person has natural talent. However, it's sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or artist.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Most people think that for someone to be a successful artist or athlete, they must have an inborn ability to be that good. Whereas, others feel that any child can be trained to be a successful artist or sport person. This essay will look at both sides. However, in my opinion, talent is the most important attribute of any great sports person or artist.

To begin, those who feel any child can be trained to be a good artist or sports person feel so because they believe in training from a tender age. At a young age, a child can master almost anything because their brain is raw, like a new computer. Thus, they can pick up new things faster than adults. For example, a popular footballer of our generation showed no football skill as a child but, he was enrolled in a football academy where he learned all that he knows now.

On the other hand, talent is an inborn trait that someone exhibits at a young age. It shows where anyone will be likely to excel or be good at. For any athlete or artist to be extremely good, they must have had the talent, which is like a foundation to build on. Thus, a child who has no talent in a particular field can never be really good no matter how much he or she is being taught. For instance, a child who does not have a good voice or an ability to sing cannot become a superb musician, since there is no template to build on.

To conclude, I would like to reiterate that although a child's brain can be receptive to new skills, talent still plays a major role in determining how great an artist or athlete can become.