Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion, and, as a result, people gravitate toward buying their products.

What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

In this increasingly competitive market, large companies have gained a competitive edge over small businesses in terms of marketing and promotion. Consequently, customers express a preference for the multinational giants. There are several reasons behind this phenomenon, and to increase consumer spending on local products, solutions should be adopted by governments and the enterprises themselves.

Initially, the aforementioned trend has roots in two main factors. The first one is the large companies’ effective marketing scheme. As their budgets are great, they are able to invite a marketing consultant to do market research and point out the targeted customers and their interests. Thus, they can design advertisements that make the most of the features of their products to increase sales. For instance, companies producing products for children usually hire a musician to compose an interesting song that can make a strong impression on the children. As a result, when they go to the supermarket with their parents and see the products they have in mind, they will ask to purchase them out of curiosity.

Fortunately, several measures could be taken to alleviate this situation. The first solution would be to engage on social media. This is a great way to interact with customers, which is essential to a business’s long-term success. A salient example can be observed in Banh mi Ba Co Gai, a small business selling banh mi in a narrow alley in Ha Noi. The owner is so talented that she utilizes Tik Tok, a famous application among young people, to advertise her banh mi. Consequently, a variety of people come to this small shop every day, making it one of the most popular shops in the capital of Vietnam. Additionally, the government can also consider raising awareness of the significance of buying local products. If local stores' revenues are low, they may collapse, leaving many people unemployed and losing their cultural identity.

In conclusion, it is clear that large companies can retain a number of customers due to their effective marketing strategy. However, several effective methods can be implemented to encourage people to endorse the local market.