Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and, as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products.

What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Larger businesses usually have higher budgets to conduct commercial strategies to persuade people to purchase their products. Providing attractive advertisements and products on sale, they have more chances to expand their markets. However, there will be some problems for the local companies as follows.

Firstly, people have less tendency to purchase local products. Local companies without massive budgets in marketing and promotion, therefore, share less and less the market. Secondly, the market will probably be occupied by a single wealthy brand. Companies with less investment in marketing will face the risk of decreasing numbers in selling their products. If the worst comes to the worst, they may go bankrupt. Finally, the overall price of products in the market is gradually determined by a single large company. Consequently, people have no choice but to pay more when the dominant suppliers of the products decide to elevate the price.

To avoid the problems mentioned above, there are some solutions to encouraging people to buy local products. Firstly, local companies can combine their products with the local culture. Take cellphones market in China for example, the cellphones supplier can provide cellphones featured with red and golden colors because these colors stand for luck and wealth respectively in Chinese culture. Moreover, the local government can execute policies on tax to protect local products. For example, for each of the foreign products sold in local has to be taxed more than the local one. This way, the local products can have a lower price to be sold more. Therefore, customers are more likely to buy local products.

To sum up, there will be certain problems and impacts on the local companies when large businesses invest in high budgets in marketing and promotion. Local companies do have solutions to deal with these problems and attract people to buy local products.