Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products.

What problems does this cause?

What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Marketing is one of the techniques adopted by businesses to promote their product. Large scale companies have often big budgets to market their products. Consequently, people get enticed towards their product. However, this causes in increase in selling cost, and also it affects small businessmen but this can be tackled by offline promotion and discounted sales.

One of the major problem arises by spending a great amount of money on marketing is high selling cost of products. In other words, people have to spend more for the same product. This can also result in people to stop buying those products. For example, there is a big difference in introductory prices and actual prices of cars. Another possible problem is that, small businessmen get affected because of this. It leads to less number of sales of their product. Moreover, sometimes they have to shift their already settled business to some regional area which ultimately results in closure of their business.

To make people buy local products, there encouragement is necessary which can be done by offline promotion. It can be done by visiting nearby homes to ask people to try their products for a minimal cost and with the help of word of mouth, local sales will be increased. In addition, offering discounted sales initially will help the companies to boost their overall sales. Take local markets of India, for instance, they offer vegetables at minimal price every Tuesday. Therefore, promoting local business will result in their increased sales.

In conclusion, although people tend to buy products of big companies because of their promotional strategies, but there are some solutions available to encourage people to buy products which are manufactured locally.