In the last decade, there has been a great increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. This has been welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, however, other students see these courses as less effective than classroom teaching.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online course?

There have been an increasing number of online courses for students over a decade. Most students have been taken advantages of these courses as they offer schedule flexibility to study and to communicate with teachers, while others say they are not as efficient as traditional ones in terms of practical knowledge and a career prospect. This essay will outline both benefits and drawbacks of online study.

The Internet have changed the standard of education since it was invented, and as a result, it has made way for the improvement of online courses involving numerous students over ten years. Firstly, with the advancement of this technology, learners can study at their own pace. Furthermore, once they have laptops and access to the network, these people can continue their study anytime and anywhere, such as at home and at work. Another advantage of this approach can be communication with teachers in which students, who want to ask questions or even hand in home assignments, can do these by sending emails. Online study, therefore, have significantly facilitated the education which is bringing benefits to students.

In contrast, it is important that traditional education is not overlooked. There are several domains where students need in-person classes to master the science, such as chemistry which is impossible to be learned without practice. The students who have selected this subject not only are limited with theoretical knowledge, but also primarily rely on simulations which means that they would not develop their practical skills. In addition, the quality of traditional classes is highly valued by employers in contrast with that of online study. Once applications are sent for jobs, candidates are less likely to be selected if they have never attended universities.

In conclusion, online education is a perfect opportunity for students who prefer flexibility and convenience. On the other hand, it neither improve practical knowledge nor assists in career ladder.