In the last decade, there has been a great increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. This has been welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, however, other students see these courses as less effective than classroom teaching.

In recent years, the approach to learning online has risen in popularity. While some students are keen on learning from an online platform others argue that this is less efficacious. This essay will highlight both the benefits and drawbacks that result from such an approach.

To begin with the positives, a crucial advantage that online courses present is flexibility. This is because virtual classrooms can be accessed anytime and anywhere where there's an internet connection available. In contrast, going to college or schools would require students to invest time on commute and governments to build infrastructure for accommodating students. Besides being flexible, online education is budget-friendly as most courses cost significantly less or in some cases can be accessed free of cost making it less expensive than college tuition.

Nevertheless, studying via an online course has few drawbacks the most obvious of which is the lack of practical knowledge. This is because the online course does not provide access to laboratories. For instance, if a student is enrolled in a Chemistry lecture then there is a slim chance that he would be able to perform laboratory experiments by himself as they require the supervision of a teacher. Moreover, the online course requires students to be self-driven and motivated to complete the lectures and in many cases, students procrastinate studying and ultimately end up abandoning the course.

In conclusion, despite the disadvantages of student-teacher interaction and students having the chance to put off studying, it is important to consider that online education is helpful as it is more time-efficient and accessible.