Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

We have all heard from different people that we only have to focus on the present regardless from what happened in the past, because you can not change what has already gone. Therefore all you need to do is to concentrate on what is happening now. This essay will try to show the importance of the past in our present life.

The past can never be erased or changed. For instance, whatever mistake you have done in the past will live with you for your whole life. Which is not bad because you learn from your past mistakes. For example, when your father tells you to do or not to do so, it is because he already lived and experienced his whole life, and now it is time to teach you how to avoid doing the same mistakes he has done. Although your father is talking about the past, his speech has a great value.

At the same time, the development in the different fields of technology is based on the past innovations. If we search for the first cellphone, camera, car, we can pretty much see how big is the difference between them. For example, try to remember the first cellphone you had and compare it with the device you are holding now. If the old phone did not exist you would not have this developed device now.

As a conclusion, the past is very important whether concerning experience and mistakes, or concerning different fields of technology. So in my opinion we should focus on the past to keep this development in precess.