Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

Nowadays, there is a common belief that the allocated funds, by the government, to preserve and develop arts represent wastage of money and should be used to resolve pressing and prior concerns. I’m of the opposite view, as I believe that art shouldn’t but neglected. Firstly, this essay will discuss the fact that art can attract more tourists and secondly, how arts sustain the heritage of a country.

First of all, it’s well known that arts are a main factor in importing tourists from all over the world. In other words, when arts are given the deserved financial support, tourism sector gets ignited which will insure an overwhelming profit. With that said, this obtained profit could be used in other sectors. For example, two years ago an economic crisis took place in Lebanon. The government set a plan to address this issue. The plan main aim was to encourage tourists to visit Lebanon by putting a tremendous amount of effort to preserve and initiate new museums, exhibitions and concerts. Consequently, the outcome has significantly improved the resilient of the financial system.

Secondly, arts are considered to be a major source of entertainment by several people in the country. Most types of entertainment such as concert, exhibition, art shows, craft and movies are derived from arts. For example, people spent countless hours on watching movies and TV shows which are considered lucrative and entertaining at the same time. Exhibition and crafts offer a huge amount of activities like clay building, paper arts, painting and more.

Finally, since arts play a major role in attracting tourists and providing entertainment. For this reason, financing arts is a must and should be done in a variety of forms like museums, exhibitions, movies and so on.