Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People nowadays are encouraged to live at present, not in the past or future. While this is a positive approach to living a fulfilled life, many people mistakenly underestimate the importance of the past. I totally disagree with this mindset for some reasons.

First and foremost, experience is the most precious present of the past. Indeed, the human beings have such an advance in every aspect of our life partially thanks to what we inherit from things that happened. For example, Edison did a thousand of experiments before inventing the lightbulbs. If he had forgotten all about the failures he had overcome and learnt from them, someone else might have been the greatest inventor or even worse, the human race would be still living in the dark. In short, it is impossible to build up a castle without a firm foundation and the past provides us priceless lessons to construct a brighter future.

Secondly, people need to know about older generations and respect those sacrificing their life to the development of the society. It is evident that nothing comes without a reason and modern-day citizens should acknowledge the significant contribution of those who passed away. Take Vietnam as a brilliant example. Vietnam used to be a battle field and occupied by many countries such as China, Japan, the USA; however, Vietnamese people did not surrender and millions of them dedicated their youth, even life to the peace of the nation. What the Vietnamese have today is built on both blood and bones of the previous generations, which should be taught to youngsters. Under no circumstance should they forget this past and they must treasure this gift.

In conclusion, people are advised to ignore the past, especially their personal mistakes or grievance, and live a life to the fullest. However, I believe that people are just able to live comfortably when they know how to respect the past and expect the future.