In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby.

To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

It seems that the human race is generating more properties than ever before. Consumerism and materialism are dominating trends all around the world so boldly that shopping is not simply a daily task but a popular hobby. I am strongly concerned about this tendency as it does not only destroy people’s lives but also creates disastrous damage to the environment.

First and foremost, while a hobby can bring pleasure, shopping creates a more stressful life. Indeed, there is a large number of people believing that when they get depressed, going to the mall is an effective way to hold up their mood. Nevertheless, the fact is that spending money without planning is one of the biggest mistakes that a money-conscious person should not have. It is because unplanned expenses will rapidly put them in the tight-budget condition, which increases their depression other than lower.

Secondly and more importantly, consumerism has a destructive impact on our environment. The more goods and services human beings produce, the more natural resources are used up. In fact, in order to manufacture million pairs of jeans, a great amount of water and fuel fossil is utilized; let alone the production process can create greenhouse gas emission. Besides, people buy more and they throw away more, which brings a colossal burden to the environment as the vast majority of industrial products take years or even centuries to decompose.

In conclusion, it is dangerous to consider shopping as a hobby because of its long-term effects on human’s health and the nature. It is time people came back treating it as older generations did in the past, taking it as a simple routine.