Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technological advancements have evolved the living standards in this era. But, a majority believes that studying history is always beneficial. Whereas, on the contrary others avow that studying about the past has no importance in our lives. This essay strongly agrees with acquiring knowledge about the past and seeking lessons from the history.

At first, considering the importance of studying history in this modernized world, we would elaborate the atomic bombing in Hiroshima and Nagasaki. The human being is propelling in the galaxies of science and technology, opening new avenues of advancement everyday. Discovery of atomic energy has been a historical milestone. This energy has caused devastating effects in South Korea, when atomic bombs were dropped. Studying history has a great impact in avoiding similar mistakes in present and future both. Also, it saves time, that could be spent in similarly failed experiments. The good and bad experiences and incidents from the past, hold lessons for the coming generations.

On the contrary, if no lessons are sought from the history, life is open to risks and benefits both. Meticulous experiments under controlled environment, must be planned and cautious approach must be taken. Studies prove that working in a free environment, with no compulsions and impending fears yields better results, but these experiments might have hazardous results.

In a nutshell, acquiring knowledge about history enables people to save their time from duplication of mistakes and avoiding failures documented in the past. Whereas, independent experimentation holds its risks and incidental fortunes both. More time must be dedicated to predict possible outcomes. Effective planning for risk mitigation which, is easier through studying history is required. Thus, history plays a vital role in minimizing loss and risk mitigation.