Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at the risk of dying out. I personally agree with the statement. I think that it is important to learn English but not at the cost of the deaths of many other local languages.

It is an undeniable fact that English is a global language and it becomes a must to learn the language if we wish to interact globally. English is one of the official languages of the United Nations with almost hundred countries speaking the language. This gives us an idea about how much we need to learn the language. But it becomes even more important to understand that it is not the national language.

As it can be seen from the education policies of India that all the courses are taught in English in an English medium school. And the people also have a narrow mentality that their wards should be taught in an English medium school if they wish them to stand somewhere globally. Due to both the policies of the government and the lack of awareness of people, many local languages are on the verge of extinction.

For example, the languages like Sanskrit are taught only for two or three years in a school. The subject of Sanskrit is also given less heed when it comes to evaluation of the student. Often the subject is taught less sincerely in the classes. The consequence of this is that we are seeing only a handful of students who are able to understand one of the oldest languages of the world. Not only Sanskrit, even Hindi is seeing tough times in its own country. Now many students find it very difficult to read, write and understand even the simplest of the words.

A language us the identity of the country and its countrymen. We should try to ensure the survival of local languages to save our identities. The importance of this can be understood by the fact that the names of every countrymen are in its local language and not in a foreign language. So if we cannot understand our local language we will not be able to understand the meaning of our own name.

To ensure the survival both the government policies and our outlook towards local languages need to change. We should encourage the next generation to learn and use local languages. The government policies should emphasis more on teaching local languages sincerely in primary, middle and higher classes. Also some courses can be taught in local languages rather than in English.

To conclude it can be said that English is a very important language to learn to interact globally. But it should be made clear that it is a desirable attribute to learn English language. The language should not be made mandatory specially at the cost of the risk of extinction of several local languages. The local languages should be promoted both by the government and the countrymen through some alterations in policies and outlook.