Natural resources like oil, forests and fresh water are indispensable gifts of mother nature to humans. These natural sources are in fact the reason why life exists on Earth. Other than providing the basic necessities, they are also the supplier of energy and luxury. However in recent years these necessities have become targets to human greed. It is the reason why these natural resources are being consumed at an alarming rate now a days.

The humans utilised natural resources to survive and to fulfil basic requirements in the history. Since the industrial revolution there has been a competition among the countries and the individuals to become rich and powerful. This greed has caused the exploitation of natural resources and today some of the natural resources are on the verge of extinction. Apart from extinction, the overuse of the natural resources has caused a serious harm to the environment. The gases like carbon monoxide, which is emitted due to consumption of wood and oil is regularly degrading the environment. These gases are also causing holes in the ozone layer hence making way for harmful ultraviolet rays to penetrate atmosphere and reach earth. These negative impacts are the major cause of health problems in people and animals. Some species of animals and birds suffered so much that they are completely wiped out now.

It is high time now and this problem needs serious consideration. This problem can be only countered with human awareness and policy implementation. The people should be made aware about the issue and the hazard it is causing to the humans and the animals. On the other hand some international and national policies should be framed. It is equally important to implement the already existing policies on climate change, sustainable development and pollution control.

In this crucial time, it becomes very important to address this issue globally. If the natural resources are not utilised in a sustainable manner, our future generations will not have access to them. Awareness of people and strict implementation of international policies can ensure these natural resources' availability in future. The energy needs have to be fulfilled by renewable sources of energy like solar and wind.