Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and if so, how?

Give reasons for tour answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It's said that learning local languages isn't as appreciated as studying English and many regional ones are in danger of extinction. In my opinion, every language plays an important role in the world and human should keep all of them intact.

English is considered as a lingua franca that many people are studying it every day. As English is one of the official languages, it's important to learn and use it due to the opportunity to understand each other better. Language is not only the tool to help people communicate, but also the key to knowledge. In addition, because English is used widely all over the world, it's only the language used in almost every global information, so in order to access to the huge treasure of human knowledge, learning English is always a good choice.

Moreover, languages also connected to diverse cultures, especially the knowledge that only stayed in a particular language. If we lose languages, we will lose unique cultures along with information of a particular ethnic group. For many older generations, language is their own character that they're desperate in keeping it from extinction. That's why we should protect and preserve local languages. For instance, Hawaiian, a regional language used in Hawaii, is considered as 'crtically endangered' by the UNESCO, and there have been many efforts in saving the language. We can start preserving the language with small actions, such as choosing a local language as a second one to learn, opening languages classes and online courses. Raising awareness in helping to protect a local language is always a great campaign that everyone should contribute.

To sum up, lingua franca and regional languages are both important in human's history and development. People should learn as many languages as they can, along with taking part in preserving endangered languages so that languages are always various in many different ways.