Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught,many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

There is no doubt that learning English is more important than learning local language. Although, some people believe that by learning English, the local language will be at risk, others argue that learning English is important for everyone. In this assay I will discuss both sides of the arguments and explain my support for the latter view.

It is clear that, learning English at schools is important. whiles student learn English language, they will use it in daily life mixed with its local language and it will affect on their mother language. For instance, students start using this English language in their daily spoken to be modern and open minded between their colleges. As a consequence, the mother language will be at risk.

On the other hand, some parents advice their children to learn English language and pay more money for their children to join international schools. For example, the parent choose the language accent to be British or American depend on the country they dream their children visit in the future. This is because traveling abroad will broaden their cultures.

In conclusion, whiles some people encourage saving their local language than learning English language, others prefer learning English language and in the same time put the rules and manage the time to learn the local language. In my opinion, I support the latter view.