Learning English at school is often seen as more inportant than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

Given to the effects that globalisation have on our lives, it is assumed that knowledge of foreign languages is crucial today. Some people believe that teaching English in schools is more important than lessons of local languages which are at risk of extinction, if they are not taught. In my opinion, although learning English is essential in today's world, local languages are more important to be taught in schools and with actions we should try to ensure that they survive.

The first reason why learning local languages is more important than learning English is that languages have a huge impact on individual's personality. There is no doubt that a language is one element of cultural identity of that nation. So teaching local languages in schools can ensure that children become aware of their country's history and culture differences from early stages of their lives. Therefore, a language links them with the past which probably will influence the person who they will be in the future. Furthermore, some research results suggest that different languages affect the way how people think and behave differently. Thus, local languages lessons are more important than learning foreign languages.

If some local languages spoken by minority, for example, are not taught, they might extinct. To preserve our precious languages, several measures can be taken. The first one, probably most important, of those is to incorporate local languages into school curriculum. In other words, making mandatory lessons will prevent them from danger of dying out. Also, the government should popularise these languages in danger and organise advertising campaigns, for instance, for children and youth. But without support of families it is impossible to make children be interested in local languages. Parents should probably encourage learn those languages and show their interest in it too.

Overall, it seems that learning foreign language is crucial in today's world, but learning local languages in schools is more important than that as they might disappear. Moreover, to preserve local languages the government should take proactive actions as well as families.