Lectures were used as a main method of teaching for the greater number of students in the past. With the existing technology, there is no longer any justification for that method. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the development of the cutting/edge technology, giving lectures is believed to be outdated and should be abolished. I strongly disagree with this opinion and discussed below are several primary reasons which support my perspective.

To begin with, the core of teaching is the interaction between teachers and students. In other words, only by receiving lectures can students best develop their scholastic competence and characteristics; as a result, they can improve their academic results and better shape recognition of the world. Almost every country has applied this approach to education and they do not seem to be liable to get rid of it in the future. This directly suggests that there is no substitute to giving lectures as it is the key to convey information to students.

Another justification worth mentioning is that lessons taught by humans may be more appealing than those conducted by machines. To be specific, as humans have emotions and can control what they want to teach, they are able to attract more attention from students, which is impossible for computers and machines to do. Moreover, during the lessons, lecturers can also give advice based on their own experiences so listeners may put knowledge into practice more easily, whereas technology only consists of dry research, of which students can hardly reap benefits. For example, the humor of teachers may make students engrave the information in their mind longer than usual. What can be inferred from this is that human beings are superior to technology at equipping students with more interesting knowledge, thus helping them remember in the long run.

However, people who hold an opposite view consider that technology should replace the traditional teaching method. They point out that technology has a wider range of information and can provide high-resolution graphics, which may have a positive bearing on the understanding of students. However, technology cannot operate without the help of humans; consequently, machines should work with humans as their assistants. Otherwise stated, teachers and school organizers are necessitated to utilise technology to enhance the teaching quality.

In conclusion, I believe lectures play such an integral part in education that they cannot be replaced, and people should harness technology to assist them while giving lessons.