As life expectancy is increasing, people work after retirement with pay. Alternatively, some people start to work at a young age. Are these positive or negative impacts?

Thanks to advances in technology and medicine, the average human lifespan has increased, so many people decide to continue working after the legal age of retirement. The fact is that as human life expectancy grows, only a number of jobs will ensure that people are able to enjoy a comfortable retirement, and therefore, many people are joining the workplace much earlier than before. In my view, I believe both patterns have distinct positive and negative effects.

On the one hand, the young generation early starting a job will have the opportunity to accumulate valuable experience. With the amount variety of work youngsters can do, they will be practised in various position, such as waiter/waitress, bartending or tutoring. They capably learn more skill like working group, cooperate and make friends with people of dissimilar characteristics and these help them to become wiser and more mature. However, the quantity of money can be earned through most part-time jobs certainly do not enough to contribute to their retirement. In addition, many high paying jobs, such as lawyers and doctors, require a qualification that can take up 6 years to acquire, and therefore are not possible for young people to do at a young age.

On the other hand, working after retirement, first of all, is a method of keeping people not only mentally but also physically healthy, which is vital for the elder. For example, a study published in the Journal of the American Medical Directors Association found that mental and physical activities involved in the working process led to significant improvements in arthritic and mental illness. Nevertheless, elders who affected by the ageing process would not be able to undertake high-intensity and high-pressure jobs, which reduces working performance and makes them easy injured when it comes to excessively strength demanding jobs.

In conclusion, as the aforementioned opinion, I think each individual should be careful when deciding whether to go to work early or to work after retirement.