Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Recently, the issue of living abroad has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that residing in a nation where a foreign language is spoken can lead to practical and social problems, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from residing overseas. Perhaps the principal benefit is that people can have a chance to acquire a language other than their mother tongue considering that they are always exposed to an environment where they have to speak in a foreign language. In addition, those who have experience of dwelling in an overseas country with language skills are more likely to find a multitude of well-paying and prestigious employment opportunities because they are able to compete with monolingual counterparts in the job market with greater ease. To exemplify, the majority of international companies in South Korea have a predisposition to hire employees proficient in a second language since a huge amount of their business revolves around global trading. Thus, multilingual workers are needed in order to deal with a multitude of issues related to their work.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that living in a foreign country merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that the language barrier prevents people who are not fluent in a language apart from their own language from communicating with speakers of a foreign language, which often leads to misunderstandings and could even result in cultural conflicts. Furthermore, being forced to speak in a second language could cause people to suffer from dealing with their small tasks that seem to be insurmountable, including doctors' appointments and going shopping, exerting a negative influence on the quality of their life. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.