Some people think young people are not suitable for important positions in the government, while other people think it is a good idea for young people to take on these positions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, whether young generation is eligible for crucial positions in the government has become a fiercely controversial issue. Some people assert that young workers have the right to obtain high positions, such as ministers and presidents, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that young workers deserve to be in charge of important positions, Perhaps an obvious reason is that they are more likely to think flexibly since they are not conservative, compared to old generation. In addition, hiring young people in crucial positions makes it possible for them to become more motivated. To exemplify, one recent article released by the Seoul Times illustrates that Kihun Lee, who was 35 years old in 2008, was promoted to a vice president in the financial department of Seoul city hall and this phenomenon exerted a positive influence on a multitude of young people in South Korea.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that young workers are entitled to obtain high positions. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that some specific fields in the government, such as militaries and police offices should hire elderly people as people engaged in these fields have to follow gruelling rules. Thus, elderly workers’ experience take priority over flexibility. Furthermore, elderly people have a number of lessons resulted from their failure and these are useful when people are faced with unpredictable situations. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.