Q4 Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the issue of learning a foreign language has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that travelling and working abroad are not the sole reasons for studying a second language, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that people only acquire a foreign language to take trips and take up job postings overseas do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that having a tight grasp of a language other than one’s mother tongue makes it possible for tourists to deal with their small daily tasks, such as doctors’ appointments and shopping. In addition, people who are fluent in a second language are more likely to find well-paying employment opportunities with greater ease considering that the majority of global corporations have a predisposition to hire multilingual job seekers. This is because their business revolves around global trade. Thus, they often dispatch their employees to a country where they have branches.

My opinion, however, is that it seems short-sighted to contend that working and travelling overseas are the only motivations for the acquisition of a foreign language. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that having a deeper understanding of a second language enables people to access numerous pieces of invaluable information. As a brief illustration, scientists are capable of gaining useful knowledge by reading books and articles written in common languages, such as English. Furthermore, foreign language proficiency can broaden people’s perspectives. To be more specific, not only can people multilingual individuals are able to build strong relationships with foreigners as the language barrier does not prevent them from connecting with each other, which allows them not only to understand cultural diversity but also to become more open to different backgrounds. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that there are other reasons why people are willing to learn other languages for the reasons discussed above.