Q 11 Many animal species in the world are becoming extinct nowadays. Some people say that countries and individuals should protect these animals from dying out, while others say we should concentrate more on problems of human beings. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the conservation of animals has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that dealing with contemporary issues of humans should take precedence over preserving animals, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that mankind should not allow animals to go extinct do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that preventing animals from disappearing plays a vital role in keeping biodiversity that is invaluable. In addition, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for making an effort to save animals, the food chain and ecosystem would be broken because of the extinction of numerous endangered species of wildlife, exerting a detrimental influence on human beings who are on the top of the food chain.

My opinion, however, is that in modern society, there are a number of important global issues which more emphasis should be placed on than prohibiting animals from dying out given that the protection of animals are not directly related to individuals' daily life. Perhaps the most pressing problem is global warming since a myriad of citizens across the globe suffer from global warming causing damage to the quality of life, which can even give rise to climate change. Another grave issue is global hunger that is directly related to the life of human beings. As an illustration, according to an article released by the Seoul Times, approximately 17% of the world's population died due to poverty. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the preservation of animals should not be a priority for the reasons discussed above.