In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Recently, the question of how to spend public money has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that ameliorating current public transport should take precedence over setting up a new and faster railway line, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that building new railway lines for bullet trains should be a priority do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that establishing these could facilitate the nationwide transport of goods and people. To be more specific, new railway systems enable people with relatives in other parts of the country to meet each other and parcels to be delivered quickly. In addition, the introduction of new railway lines leads to a boom in domestic tourism, which not only invigorates economic growth in local areas but also makes it possible for citizens to live a better life.

My opinion, however, is that it is much more beneficial to improving local and existing public transport. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that current public transport systems have a predisposition to play an important role in locals' daily life, such as commuting to and from work. In other words, an increase in the quality of these systems would exert a more significant impact on their well-being. Another convincing reason is that spending public funds on new railway lines place a heavy burden on locals considering that an astronomical amount of tax money is required to build these lines. To exemplify, research conducted by the government of China has demonstrated the amount of tax money spent setting up new bullet train lines is predicted three times higher than updating current transport systems. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that upgrading current public transport is more worthy than constructing a faster railway system for the reasons discussed above.