Q1 Over the last few decades, there has been an increase in international tourism. Some people think that tourism is beneficial for local communities and should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of tourism has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that global tourism should not be discouraged as it exerts a positive influence on local communities, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that local communities benefit a great deal from the development of the tourism industry. Perhaps the principal advantage is that global tourism can stimulate economic growth considering that it attracts investment from multinational corporations and governments across the globe. In addition, tourism sectors create a myriad of employment opportunities in the building of facilities and the updating of infrastructure, including railways and roads, which enables local residents to land a job with greater ease. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for the tourism industry, there would be much higher unemployment rates in a multitude of renowned cities amongst overseas visitors, such as Paris and Venice.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the advancement of international tourism merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that foreign travellers who produce an astronomical amount of waste poses a threat to the local environment. As an illustration, one notable natural heritage site designated by UNESCO in South Korea had numerous endangered species of birds. However, the majority of these species became extinct in 2015 since a great deal of garbage generated by travellers accelerated the speed of their disappearance. Furthermore, some tourists commit vandalism, placing a heavy financial burden on the local government given that vast sums of public funding is required to restore damaged amenities. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.