Q6 : Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the effect of social networking sites has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that social media affect individual people and society in a negative way, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from developments in social networking services. Perhaps the principal benefit is that the advent of social media has revolutionised the way people communicate with others considering that users are able to contact their family members and friends regardless of time and place with the exception of having access to the Internet. Furthermore, people can share common interests with their acquaintances on social media, making it possible for them to strengthen relationships with each other.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the advancement of social networking services merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that adolescents vulnerable to distinguishing right from wrong are more likely to being exposed to offences because criminals can send messages to teenagers with greater ease by creating fake profiles. This can even lead to an increase in the number of abductions, exerting a detrimental influence on society. In addition, a multitude of users who lack self-control are easily addicted to social media, which results in employees as well as pupils have difficulty in concentrating on their work or studies. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.