Over the last few decades, there has been an increase in international tourism. Some people think that tourism is beneficial for local communities and should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of tourism has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that global tourism exerts a positive influence on local society and should not be discouraged, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from a boom in tourism. Perhaps the principal advantage is that the tourism industry attracts investment from global businesses as well as governments, leading to economic growth. Another benefit is that developments in tourism can create numerous employment opportunities in the building of facilities and the updating of infrastructure, which often enables locals to have an improved standard of living. To be more specific, if it were not for tourism, there would be much higher unemployment rates in a myriad of well-known cities amongst overseas visitors, such as Paris and Venice considering that these cities' economies revolve around tourist spending. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that the advancement of tourism benefits local society a great deal.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that a rise in tourism merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that the tertiary industry related to tourism often takes a heavy toll on the local environment. To exemplify, an article released by Seoul Times illustrates that one notable cultural heritage which had a multitude of species of birds in 2015. However, nearly 70% of them became extinct, and it turned out that the main reason for this phenomenon is that a huge amount of garbage generated by foreign travellers caused damage to the environment. Furthermore, a multitude of overseas tourists often commit vandalism, which makes residents in a local area have difficulty dwelling there. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.