Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is widely believed that living in a country where the official language is different from yours would cause numerous problems, in both social and practical areas. As for me, I agree with it, and I think those difficulties are not easy to avoid.

When we enter a new environment, the main and most important thing for us is to establish a social network with local people, but it is challenging for most of us. The unique culture always leads to a unique speaking style, and we need time to adapt to it. However, during this process, we are concerned about whether we have said anything inappropriate, and sometimes we may be hurt by others' words, even if that's not their intention. For example, a student may get some wrong messages, such as dissatisfaction, from his tutor because the words that his tutor uses are too strict but normal in the local culture.

There are also some practical problems we may face after moving to a new country with a different language. First of all, the students may feel nervous when there is a presentation or assignment that they usually cannot get a good grade because of the low rate of vocabulary and the lack of confidence. Then it also occurs when we are hunting for a job. Native speakers are normally the better choice for companies that are unwilling to spend time and money developing their employees' communication skills. Finally, everyday life is also influenced by language; there can be more problems than we think when we go to the supermarket or hospital.

In conclusion, I believe that the difficulties that an unfamiliar language can cause are incalculable.