Long distance flight uses more fuel than cars and brings pollution to the environment. We should discourage non-essential flight rather than limit the use of cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, global warming has been attracting a great deal of public attention due to its substantial impacts on humankind. Although the proposal of limiting unnecessary flights appears reasonable, car restriction is more practical and effective.

On the one hand, There are many problems associated when it comes to discouraging non-essential flights. First, traveling by planes is one of the most convenient and fastest ways to travel from one location to another. Restricting flights means that citizens have to use other alternative vehicles such as cars or trains which require remarkable physical travels, costing unnecessary time, money and effort. Second, air travel restriction is conducive to a reduction in foreign tourism. This suggests a causal relationship with a decrease in national incomes of many countries especially those depends heavily on tourism as the main source of national revenues.

On the other hand, it is true that limitation of cars could bestow net positive environmental benefits. First, an upward pattern could be witnessed in car numbers while plane numbers remain stable in many countries especially the developing ones. It is implied that reducing car usage would diminish more carbon dioxide and monoxide concentrations than reducing flights, contributing considerably to the environmental rehabilitation. Beside, Citizens can switch to public vehicles such as underground trains or buses for environmental efficiency. This is because public transportation is invariably associated with a lower degree of fossil fuel consumption, which is proved to be the main source of exhausted fumes in the atmosphere.

In conclusion, limiting unnecessary flights could culminate in some negative consequences related to foreign tourism and travel comfort. Restriction of cars could act as a deterrent for the deterioration of the environment due to its dominance in numbers.