A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly.

Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweight its drawbacks?

Many areas in the world count on tourism as a main financial gain. Even though it can improve country’s economy, enviromental destruction may occur due to the large numbers of tourists.

Country’s economy will experience a significant increase by empowering tourism places that are able to attract the attention of visitors. This is because people nowadays prefer to spend their day off and their money by visiting tourist attractions either with family or friend. For example, a number of Tomohon Lake visitors in North Sulawesi was increased over the last five years, this number has contributed in increasing regional income at around 10%. However, I assume if this percentage will be rise considerably if the regional government supports the improvement of public facilities (toilet and photo spots) and playground (flying fox and water bike).

On the other hand, the large number of tourists also caused environmental destruction. This is because there is a lot of garbage is thrown away by tourists carelessly that causes environmental pollution. For instance, in 2020, some areas of Matahari Tourism Park was inundated by floods because the river flow near the park was clogged by waste that thrown by visitors. However, I assume if that tragedy will not occur if both of park manager and local government put their attention to a good tourism management.

To conclude, although tourism attraction afford to improve country’s economy, the large number of visitors also has potency to cause environmtental destruction.