A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks

Nowadays Tourism has generated a significant portion of national income for many countries. Although this industry has some drawbacks, I would consider that there are more benefits.

On the one hand, tourism can be highly problematic for many reasons. One of the key disadvantages is littering the environment. For example, plastic bottles, nylon bags are directly taken out into water and soil which has enormous impacts on the beauty and safety of landscape or historical areas as well as the life of some animals. Another significant drawback is that many countries witnessed a dramatic growth in the number of society's vices which is an alarming and serious problem. If this problem is not handled in time, The number of tourists will dwindle due to unsafe destinations.

On the other hand, I would argue the disadvantages of the tourism industry pale in comparison with the benefits. Firstly, tourism is considered the main source of earnings for local authorities as well as local people, in rich tourism potential places all over the world, especially in developing countries. This way, tourism yields supporting the country’s economy. The second advantage that should be taken into consideration is the promotion of the nation’s tradition and culture. The more tourists are attracted, the easier it is.

In conclusion, despite several drawbacks that tourism has, it seems to me that they are not far outweighed by potential benefits.