A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world? Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks.

Currently, travel has been counted on as a premier source of income for numerous regions; however, whenever the managerial level is absent, undesirable consequences occur. This essay agrees that the tourism sector is one of the most crucial factors that play a vital role in generating a profit. In the following lines, both disadvantages and advantages will be illustrated, consequently supported by the reasons.

On the one hand, when it comes to demerits, the main reason why some nations cannot rely on tourism as their main source of revenue is increasing the tendency towards illegal immigration. To be explained, many visitors break up the visa duration because they seek to find a job opportunity rather than turn back to their home land. A prominent example is Italy, where the percentage of foreigners exceeds the percentage of original citizens. Hence, should the governmental sectors do not impose regulations, the country will be overpopulated, and unemployment will be raised as well.

On the other hand, it can be reiterated that some nations suffer from inflation and recession, such as developing countries, so they tend to flourish their income by exchanging foreign currency. In other words, during the accommodation, tourists spend money in order to purchase souvenirs or eat in restaurants along with visiting historical places for entertainment. For example, in Egypt, where many travellers pay hard currency, and that leads to provide vacancies for Egyptians. Thus, more and more human resources will be hired to cover their needs.

In conclusion, it is clear that the tourism sector has been contributing to the nation's prosperity and wealth, but authorities have to set rules to tackle the problems and eliminate drawbacks accordingly. As a result, after the merits and demerits have shown, I am convinced that the opportunities exceed the obstacles.