A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world? Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

Many places in the world depend on tourism as a main source of income. Unluckily, it can cause serious trouble if it's not managed correctly. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of tourism.

The reason why tourism is extremely important in most countries is that it widely helps the country's economy. Tourists would always spend a lot of money while visiting a country to satisfy themselves. For instance, they'd spend money on hotels, transportation, and when visiting some places. Another advantage of tourism is that it provides a wide range of job opportunities. As it demands a lot of workers in that field. This will result in a decrease in the rate of unemployment. Another alternative, tourism can promote cultural exchange. Tourism isn't just about sightseeing, it's about cross-cultural connections. This will promote global peace.

However, poor management of tourism can cause a terrible outcome. Main tourist destinations in a country become overcrowded. This might result in many illegal activities such as destroying ancient buildings. The more crowded a place is, the more polluted it gets. Not only because of the use of means of transport but also throwing garbage everywhere and not caring about the environment. Also, it will result in some criminal activities. Some tourists carry valuable things most of the time, becoming an attractive target for thieves. However, proper management can cause all of these problems to vanish.

To sum up, although tourism can cause serious problems such as destruction and increasing in crime rate, it has a huge positive impact on the country as it provides job opportunities. In my opinion, the advantages of tourism can outweigh the disadvantages.