Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology is now replacing their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is the fact that some governments are spending millions of dollars on the maintainance of libraries each year. Although some people agure that thanks to technology's forward, the authorities should not waste money in an attempt to maintain the libraries' operation, I firmly convince that traditional libraries have significant funtions and therefore should be sustanined for public access.

To begin with, technology, especially in accessing the Internet, is a vital resource with extensive digital-based information and up-to-date reading materials, which seems to put an decline of those who use libraries. The influence as a measurement for governments who shoulder their duties in either maintaining or developing the considerable human knowledge in all subjects but lower cost spending on staff member's salaries or maintainace's fee. It is vulnerable that citizens all around the world are able to acecess the high-standard terriary online papers and books through the wideless broadband Internet instead only particular libraries could offer in the past. Therefore, no one could deny that technology seems to replace the position of libraries in society due to its convenience and unlimitedness.

However, I strongly believe that traditional libraries are advantageous to some extent beyond the space and reliable knowledge resource. Majority of citizens are more likely to use libraries since they provide such a comfortable and quite enviroment to learning as well as enjoy reading books. This is highly beneficial, given the increasing number of sources of noise surrounding us these days. It is clear that traditional libraries represent the cultural and historical identity in a long time period, which is likely to store a lot of original books, making it a major contributor to human's civilization. Moreover, a great deal of online content without censorship is tended to misinformed public.

To conclude, although technology is considered to pose some external threats in maintaining a well-informed society, I believe that it would be a serious mistake to say keeping libraries open is a waste of money.