: The maintenance of public libraries is a waste of money because of computer technologies that have the same function. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Public libraries have been the treasure-house of knowledge. Opponents of this view claim that due to advancement in technology these need not be preserved. I, however, disagree to the statement because libraries are perfect place to study and grab knowledge.

To start with, the first and foremost reason is a conducive atmosphere. To gain knowledge or study purpose, one requires discipline, motivation and quiet ambiance so that one can concentrate. Moreover, looking at people studying over there, a person feels like doing the same which is not possible if he goes with technology. Rustling and sweet smell of paper can never be replaced by anything else but books. A recent study by renowned magazine revealed that a person sitting in library can study for longer hours as compared to the person with computer at home or in office. Also, working with technology for hours and hours is unhealthy and can have adverse impact on our eyesight, whereas no such harm is detected of studying in libraries. Therefore, it is easy to understand that preserving libraries is not wasting but investing money.

What is more, visiting library gives us opportunity to come in contact with other people or even competitors. As such, the person feels inspired and motivated. Going to library is a great outing which is the need of the hour to stay relaxed, rejuvenated and tension free. Working on technology, however, can lead to stress, strain, and depression. More so, libraries are the cheapest and the best options for those who do not either have access to internet or cannot use computers. For instance, a survey by The Ministry of Science and Technology concluded that just 30 percent people are using technology for study, to do research and collect information in India. Also, libraries can be established in far-flung areas where internet is nearly impossible or quite expensive. Hence, it must not be wrong to say that libraries are and will remain viable alternate to modern technology.

In conclusion, I would like to assert that protection of the libraries which are the vast pool of information is mandatory so that the poor, unprivileged and people residing in remote areas also have access to these matchless property of knowledge.