The majority of news being reported is bad news such as wars, famines, accidents and crime. Why do you think that is? Do you think news should be a balance of both good and bad news?

These days, social media, especially news tends to publish information about harmful incidents such as the conflict between two countries, the increase in crime rate, and serious accidents. There are various reasons behind this tendency, and I believe news should be equal both negative and positive content.

There are various reasons explained why reporting bad news is becoming popular. The first reason relates to marketing strategies, the reporter knows that humans are easily attracted to negative words in headlines. As a result, the journalist and reporter take advantage of this human nature to help media organizations increase the sales of their publications and have more reputation for having up-to-date information about incidents. Furthermore, publishing negative news and information is a way of helping people be aware of unpredicted dangers from which to pay attention to our safety. For instance, news notifies residents about serious floods and storms on the weather forecast; therefore, citizens in dangerous areas can swiftly move to the safe. So bad news helps the existence of humans.

Media should focus on balancing good and bad information helps the public get awareness of both types of news. For example, reporting good behavior such as volunteering and going to help the needy encourages people to be aware of their responsibilities to the community, and nation. Generally, the mass media should balance positive and negative information because it helps evoke emotions and positive energy.

In conclusion, there should be a balance between two sides of news, by this person can be motivated to read all kinds of news and make their views in an affirmative side and try to have a positive belief despite the bad news.