Many children are encouraged by their parents to get a part time job in their free time. What are the advantages and disadvantages to children of doing so?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Although many people believe that it is useful experience for children to do paid work, others consider that it can be determental. Children can learn about earning money earlier and gain independence from doing paid work, however, there are also drawbacks to be taken into account.

First of all, in terms of gaining experience, children who have paid work are more advanced than the others. Let’s take grass-cutting job as an example. Children who do this work will have chances to communicate with likelihood to offer them a service. Therefore they are more confident and experienced than the others who just stay at home and keep doing homeworks and don not know about the oustside world. Secondly, defenders of child labour argue that it is an effective method of learning. Children may be able to apply knowledge taught to them in a real life working climate. For instance, if a boy likes to play cricket and he is working at a sports shop. In such case, he can learn a lot about cricket from customers and other people.

On the other hand, , children may neglect the classroom study and even fail the class. The worst thing is yet to come. They may become so preoccupied with the benefits ahead of them such as small salary that they may leave school. Second, as children can make money at an early age, they would feel that it is appropriate to spend it on luxury things. This will watse the money that childre have earned and they will be controlled by money.

In conclusion, children can have lots of benefits from do part time job, however, there are several pitfall to be given consideration.