At many companies today, applicants are often rejected due to old age.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, during the recruitment process, employers assess the profile of an applicant on many aspects like their qualification, relevant experience, skills, gender, and age. It is noticed, job applications of old age have a higher rate of rejection. Although, it could be assumed that the people of higher age can not contribute more if compared with youngsters but I believe, age should not be the parameter to judge anyone's potential. The bases of my view will be detailed more in the following passages.

Physical capabilities could be the root cause of the rejection of old age job seekers. There are many recruitment drives where applicants of specific age groups and gender are more preferred according to the type of work. For example, a young male candidate will be more suitable to work at a mechanical workshop where a worker is expected to lift heavily weighted parts from the lobby to the assembling section. A woman or old age will find this kind of work more difficult as it requires more physical strength.

Although, there are some challenging jobs which could not be done by elder people it could not be the reason for their job rejection in all the cases. Firstly, in this modern era of technology, most of the industrial works where human strength was involved are automated by machinery now, so there are very few jobs requiring people who are physically strong. To consider old age people less capable is not the right choice while elderly people could be more helpful for any organization as their experience could be utilized in improving the ongoing processes as well they can supervise and mentor junior associates in a better way.

To summarise, I believe that senior citizens could not be chosen for few jobs demanding more physical work. However, job applications of old age people should be attended at high priority as they can contribute more with the help of their experience.