You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

The Internet is now used all around the world as a source of information and communication. However, it's often controversial, so many people think it needs to be controlled. Others believe there should be no interference whatsoever.

Discuss both points of view, and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

In today's modern era of technology, the internet has a great influence on day to day life of people. People rely more on the internet for gathering information and it is also used much as a platform to socialize with each other. It is pretty much argued that the internet should be controlled more or it should not be interfered with. I believe that there should be a balanced approach, some features or functions of the internet should be controlled while the rest of it should be free without any surveillance or monitoring. Further paragraphs will be dedicated to details on these views and a balanced approach will be discussed also.

On the first hand, there is a lot of content on the internet which needs to be controlled as it may cause harm to ur society in several ways. Nowadays, the internet is used a lot as a source of information and communication where people browse the world wide web for information and many use internet-based applications like WhatsApp, Facebook, and Instagram to socialize within their community In recent years, innumerable where some anti-social elements have used these platforms to spread rumors and communal hatred as well as for promoting and selling illegal or banned substances. For example, the reason behind the communal riots that occurred in Bengaluru (a city in the southern part of India) was a controversial Facebook post that was posted from a fake account.

Although, there are many inappropriate things to be controlled on the internet which led to increased surveillance. People do not feel comfortable on some websites as they believe their information is not private. For the sake of security, many of the applications and websites are having access to their user's data. This kind of control over people's information is a breach of their privacy. A recent documentary named 'The Social Dilemma' is based on the experience shared by ex-employees of social networks like Facebook and Twitter, where they revealed how these giants can access the data of any user and peep in your chats.

To summarise, I believe that the content on the internet should be controlled by monitoring and restricting inappropriate and illegal activities while the control should be limited and should not affect the privacy of the users.