In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In contemporary settings, moving to cities to settle down is a popular tendency around the world. Thus, the number of people living in the countryside is substantially falling. From my perspective, I am of the opinion that this trend exerts adverse impacts on the society

To commence, increasing city-oriented movers will certainly lead to overpopulation in the cities. The primary consequence of this phenomenon is the burden it puts on public services. As the demand is rising, more pressure is placed on public services, such as transport or healthcare systems, which requires the government to invest a huge amount of money to handle. More than that, the more people there are, the more competitive the environments become. To illustrate, it is much more challenging for graduates to apply for a well paid job or for students to obtain their academic goals in major cities.

Beside that, it is irrefutable that this development will widen the gap between the rich and the poor. Since the majority of citizens settle down in the urban, almost every enterprise will not build their institutions in undeveloped countryside. Therefore, there will be fewer career prospects for rural dwellers, and they have to make a living via low paid jobs. Henceforth, countryside inhabitants remain poor, whereas those living in the Metropolitan become wealthier. Eventually, this huge gap will prevent the holistic development of a whole country.

In summary, the aforementioned analysis indicates that the case of rural citizens moving to urban areas is a negative development. Hence, the authorities should have their own policies as soon as possible to ensure the stable development of the country.