People are responsible for their happiness. Others feel happiness depends on other factors in their life. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

In contemporary settings, there exist numerous ways in which people all over the world conceptualize happiness. While some assume that individuals decide their happiness by themselves, others suggest that happiness is attributable to a variety of other factors. From my perspective, I am in favor of the former viewpoint, but both opinions will be discussed in the following essay.

On the one hand, it is opined that there are some driving forces other than people themselves that contribute to the happiness of citizens. Firstly, the most noteworthy factor is luck. As people are unable to predict exactly their future, various deviations are likely to appear to prevent them from reaching their desires. Even when they have prepared in advance, humans are not prodigious enough to improvise all of the astonishing happenstances. In addition, the chance that people can live happily is partly influenced by their material possession. Since citizens are living in a money-respected world, some believe that the ability to afford a host of bills and spend time on luxurious entertainment is more than adequate to be satisfied in today's lives.

On the other hand, I hold a firm belief that individuals are the authors of their own lives. Irrefutably, it is widely acknowledged that people's lives are the outcomes of their previous choices in thousands of situations throughout their lives. Therefore, should citizens be aware of this fact and wise enough to make the right decisions, they will be able to find and achieve the 'happiness' that they want. More than that, human beings possess an extraordinary characteristic that can lead them to their desired satisfaction, which is their determination. Having withdrawn tons of lessons from their forebears, people all know that once they are undaunted when facing obstacles in their lives and try their best to overcome those, it is highly likely that they can achieve their goals, thereby living happily in their own way. Therefore, people ought to understand that they are responsible for their own happiness.

To summarize, it is true that there are multifarious paths that lead citizens to their dreamt happiness. However, I strongly believe that whether or not people can live a life of contentment is entirely dependent on themselves.