Many people assume that the goal of every country should be to produce more materials and goods.

To what extent do you agree or disagree that constantly increasing production is an appropriate goal?

In contemporary settings, there exist divergent opinions regarding the target of all nations. Among those, some people argue that manufacturing more merchandise should be an ideal one. Personally, I am in consummate discord with this viewpoint due to the possibility of economic crisis and poor living standards for citizens.

To commence, it is irrefutable that more created materials and goods will easily put the economy on the brink of being stagnant. To be more specific, this will give rise to a surplus of products, leading supply to overtake demand. Hence, the manufacturing scale will be downsized, increasing the unemployment rate. The rising number of poor people provokes social chaos such as crime or famine, which requires authorities to invest much money to tackle. In other words, overproducing merchandise will have a counterproductive effect and refrain the economy from developing.

More than that, merely focusing on increasing material output means that other aspects of life will be overlooked. The most typical illustration of this is the healthcare and service sector. Regarding the former, public health is greatly risked since food companies solely concentrate on quantity instead of qualitative features. Also, in terms of the latter, just allocating resources to infrastructure can not attract and retain potential customers owing to poor and amateur service provided by untrained staff. As a result, neither citizens nor enterprises can be satisfied in their daily lives.

In summary, generating more commodities will eventually result in an economic recession and unsatisfactory living conditions. Therefore, unless people avoid this inappropriate goal, it will be challenging for society to achieve holistic development.