In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Urbanization has become a phenomenon in many nations all over the world. As a result, the number of rural dwellers is reducing. In my opinion, this is a negative development which can lead to worsening environmental pollution as well as the economic situation.

One serious problem that can arise from the trend of moving to metropolises is the high level of pollution. People from backward villages emigrate to these prosperous areas to earn a living and move up the social ladder. Therefore, the more humans live in the cities, the more vehicles and social interactions appear. These kinds of transport and social activities can release enormous volumes of pollutants such as carbon monoxide or oxides of nitrogen. Consequently, the pollution situation in urban areas, such as air and noise pollution has been aggravated. So, even though the number of people who settle in the countryside is decreasing, the environmental pollution in cities is increasing.

Another issue is the lack of working labor forces in the agricultural sector in the countryside. The majority of the population in rural areas who have endured destitution have to search for work in big cities concluding many industrial zones that hire a huge amount of employees. This trend can lead to serious consequences in the economic sector. For instance, if farmers leave their fields, there will be a deficiency of workers which can cause the decreasing volume of agricultural products such as rice or fruits in each country. Hence, the export output and domestic consumption will drop considerably. And for that reason, the global economic depression will happen.

In conclusion, although it has become more popular for people to relocate from rural areas to urban areas, it has brought many severe problems for this trend to be considered as a negative development.