In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that is the government’s responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is increasingly common for children to suffer from obesity and unhealthy lifestyle. People have different views on whether governments should take responsibility for this practice or not. In my opinion, it is reasonable for the government to take charge of this phenomenon; however, parents also act as the primary guardian of their children’s health.

It is valid that governments should assume the onus to tackle the problem of child obesity. In fact, what states can do is enact laws and policies which promote a healthier lifestyle in place of a sedentary one. Therefore, children have to comply with these regulations and make alterations to their bad habits. For instance, the Vietnamese government has recently released a policy requiring schools to provide students with wholesome meals and offer them a wide variety of physical activities apart from obligatory studying curriculum. As a result, the obesity rate among Vietnamese students has a tendency to significantly decline thanks to less sugary food and drink.

Nonetheless, parental intervention plays a vital role in reducing the possibility of ailment associated with an unhealthy lifestyle. As a matter of fact, it is parents that have the privilege to monitor their offspring’s diet and commitment to exercise. If they neglect this obligation, their children are likely to remain long-term obese and have poor health on account of the shortage of outdoor activities and unhealthy dietary habits. For example, parents, these days, tend to encourage their children to take part in weekly exercise programs, which can assist children in developing their physical health and not be greatly influenced by a sedentary lifestyle.

In conclusion, it seems to me that parents should take accountability for guaranteeing their children’s dietary habits notwithstanding the government’s policies in curbing the obesity rate. Besides, children should strike a balance between exercise and eating.