Some employers are giving increased importance to employing people with good social skills in addition to good qualifications. Do you agree or disagree that social skills are as important as good qualifications for success in a job?

In today’s society, it is increasingly common for many employers to recruit employees with high proficiency in social skills besides proficient qualifications. From my perspective, I strongly agree that possessing good soft skills apart from formal qualifications can give people opportunities to succeed in their careers.

Undeniably, excellent qualifications in a specific field play a vital role in the success of an occupation. In fact, recruiters who are able at their specialized capabilities and knowledge will assist companies to thrive and reach their career edge. This is probably true for the works involving intensive research such as medicine, computer science, and information technology. Without in-depth knowledge and technical skills, employees cannot conduct research and come up with effective working proposals; hence, they will stand a limited chance of being recruited and getting a promotion.

Nonetheless, having good social skills can help people to guarantee the success of their profession. Admittedly, stellar credentials are indispensable for a career in terms of a professional major but it is not enough for advancing occupation success. Nowadays, workers rarely work individually and they often cooperate with others to get professional achievement. For this reason, persons have a tendency to reinforce their intrapersonal skills with a view to building good relationships with their colleagues and business partners. In contrast, employees who lack such important skills are susceptible to isolation and conflicts among workers on the ground of misunderstanding and miscommunication. Additionally, it is excellent social skills that also help people to stand a chance of climbing their career ladder. For instance, should recruiters be competent in communication and compromising skills, they will convince the investors to sign contracts and attract an enormous investment for companies.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the combination of good qualifications and excellent social skills have a strong correlation in determining a successful job as it not only helps people to integrate with their working counterparts but it also facilitates their working process.